Sun Ra – Lanquidity


By the time this album was recorded in 1978, Sun Ra and his Arkestra had been living in Philadelphia for a decade. They journeyed to New York City to record this project for the Philly Jazz Label. The rhythmic bearing of the music, as well as Sun Ra’s use of a Fender Rhodes electric piano (especially on the nine-and-a-half minute “Twin Stars Of Thence”), align this music with some of the post-Bitches Brew releases by Miles Davis. Ra even brought along two electric guitarists for the date, Dale Williams and Disco Kid. As late ’70s fusion-flavored jazz goes, this stands up extremely well, with its rhythmic sensibilities harking back with gusto to earlier decades in the century. The album closer is the chant-filled “There Are Other Worlds (They Have Not Told You Of)”–11 minutes of ever-undulating and gently propulsive groove. Ra’s piano playing is gorgeously ethereal on this number.


01. Lanquidity
02. Where Pathways Meet
03. That’s How I Feel
04. Twin Stars Of Thence
05. There Are Other Worlds (They Have Not Told You Of)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

5 Responses to “Sun Ra – Lanquidity”

  1. Merkaba says:

    Thank you for all the Sun Ra. Shit is awesome. Love this cat.

  2. ra-gawd says:

    yes! thank you!!!

  3. Tahlid says:

    Real dope album i suggest anyone who enjoys sun ra really to download this album sone of his most powerful & melodic music ever

  4. Tom Rotscheroth says:

    You are playing with my mental sanity. You hit the bruise I am constantly touching with my tongue. Thank you very much!!!

  5. Jazzy Symphonic says:

    THANK YOU….thank you.

Leave a Reply