Donald Byrd – The Cat Walk


In this album, Byrd demonstrates a further stage in his career. His sense of dynamics, for instance, is acutely evident throughout the set together with his capacity to construct fresh melodic patterns. Also heartening is the fact that Byrd does not find it necessary to pound home the point that he has roots. A blues feeling courses through everything he plays, but he is also able to range through a much wider variety of moods than are several of his more self-consciously “hard” contemporaries. There is in Byrd a linkage to sunny, light-hearted jazz playing as well as to vigorously assertive self-expression.


01. Say You’re Mine
02. Duke’s Mixture
03. Each Time I Think Of You
04. The Cat Walk
05. Cute
06. Hello Bright Sunflower

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply