Bobby Hutcherson – Stick-Up!


Bobby Hutcherson’s Stick-Up!, an all-star date from 1966, is a bit of a departure from the musician’s regular Blue Note sessions of the time. Featuring saxophonist Joe Henderson, pianist McCoy Tyner, bassist Herbie Lewis, and drummer Billy Higgins, this album has a distinct straight-ahead feel in comparison with more esoteric sessions like Patterns or Components. Nonetheless, this date finds Hutcherson in top form, with excellent dexterity on the vibes and stunning solo spots that match those of his distinguished guests.

Stick-Up! is also unique in that Hutcherson himself composed all but one of the tracks, Ornette Coleman’s “Una Muy Bonita.” Hutcherson’s burning “8/4 Beat” is a very bebop flavored number that features dynamic work from Henderson. The wistful “Summer Nights” is a gentle ballad-a perfect showcase for Hutcherson’s highly sensitive mallet work. A high point of the disc is the challenging “Black Circle,” a demanding piece that Hutcherson and Henderson pull off expertly before launching into a blistering solo section. Likewise, the closing “Blues Mind Matter” is a powerful hard-bop statement from this most engaging vibraphone master.


01. Una Muy Bonita
02. 8/4 Beat
03. Summer Nights
04. Black Circle
05. Verse
06. Blues Mind Matter

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

5 Responses to “Bobby Hutcherson – Stick-Up!”

  1. Michele says:

    Link is for Sun Ra’s “Lanquidity”. ;)

  2. dOk says:

    sono ufficialmente rincoglionito

  3. Altro che rincoglionito, grazie mille…


  4. Dirk Bill says:

    I appreciate this blog so much! Thank you for all your hard work putting all this amzing music together. Just so you know, on this post the link for Rapidshare is a duplicate of the Mediafire link, which is dead.

Leave a Reply