Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – Hard Bop


The second edition of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers, which features altoist Jackie McLean and trumpeter Bill Hardman, tends to get overlooked due to the original version having Horace Silver and the 1959 band featuring Lee Morgan, Benny Golson, and Bobby Timmons. Pianist Sam Dockery and bassist Spanky DeBrest, although destined to be obscure, handle their roles well behind the lead voices even if McLean, Hardman, and Blakey generally steal the show. An excellent hard bop set.


01. Cranky Spanky
02. Stella by Starlight
03. My Heart Stood Still
04. Little Melonae
05. Stanley’s Stiff Chickens
06. Nica’s Tempo
07. Dee’s Dilemma
08. Just For Marty
09. Gershwin Medley (Rhapsody In Blue – Summertime – Someone To Watch Over Me – The Man I Love)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply