Milt Jackson – In a New Setting


Milt Jackson made a number of solo albums during his long tenure with the Modern Jazz Quartet is one of his best as a leader. With young pianist McCoy Tyner and tenor saxophonist Jimmy Heath, Jackson puts together a great session, kicking off with his hard driving “Sonny’s Blues.” The leader’s percussive but swinging style, plus the potent solos by Tyner and Heath, are all appealing. The only reservation about this album is the deteriorated condition of the master tape from which it was made; it is rather noticeable on several tracks, though finding a mint copy of the original record is not a viable option for most collectors. Pick this one up in a heartbeat.


01. Sonny’s Blues
02. I’m Gonna Laugh You Of My Life
03. Spanish Fly
04. No Moon At All
05. Slow Death
06. Clay’s Blues
07. Lazy Melody
08. Project S
09. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye
10. That’s In
11. Ineffable
12. The Other Half Of Me

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Milt Jackson – In a New Setting”

  1. Cory says:

    So many great albums, thanks!

Leave a Reply