Lee Morgan – The Cooker


Lee Morgan was a tender 19-year-old when he recorded 1957′s The Cooker for Blue Note. While Morgan wouldn’t truly hit his stride until a few years after this release, his duties as leader here are mighty impressive, nonetheless. A stellar personnel line-up that includes drummer Philly Joe Jones, bassist Paul Chambers, pianist Bobby Timmons, and baritone saxophonist Pepper Adams keeps the musicianship at a remarkably high caliber, and the ensemble’s performance on standards like “A Night in Tunisia” and “Just One of Those Things” sizzle, as do their takes on Morgan’s two originals. The Cooker isn’t a landmark release, but it is a very solid hard-bop outing that showcases dynamic group chemistry and the formative first steps of Morgan’s dazzling trumpet chops.


01. A Night In Tunisia
02. Heavy Dipper
03. Just One Of Those Things
04. Lover Man
05. New-Ma
06. Just One Of Those Things (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply