Jackie McLean – Destination Out


As the title suggests, there is little about this disc that would constitute a safe approach to jazz. But then, alto man Jackie McLean never was one to take the easy path. The adventurousness of this set from 1963 hints of the changing scene at the time and McLean makes a bold statement here. Included in the adventure are the daring Grachan Moncur III, the equally confident Bobby Hutcherson, and the enterprising Roy Haynes. In all, this makes for a wild ride that opens the door to a new world of possibilities.

The hazy opener, “Love and Hate” sets the tone for the unusual session as the group provides a new standard for group improvisation. Things get stickier with the aptly titled “Esoteric,” a schizophrenic number that alternates from an unsettling waltz to burning bop with expert direction from Haynes. The epic “Kahlil The Prophet” is the disc’s centerpiece and a true masterpiece of modern jazz. The final blues “Riff Raff” ties the session to a close with a constantly repeating melodic motif that increases the tension before opening up to some stunning solo work by all. For those with a sense of adventure, this is the one to get.

Personnel: Jackie McLean (alto saxophone); Grachan Moncur III (trombone); Bobby Hutcherson (vibraphone); Larry Ridley (bass instrument); Roy Haynes (drums).


01. Love and Hate
02. Esoteric
03. Kahlil The Prophet
04. Riff Raff

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Jackie McLean – Destination Out”

  1. cheech says:


Leave a Reply