Hank Mobley – Peckin’ Time


Hank Mobley’s Peckin’ Time is a classic bop date featuring heavyweight talent. Besides the obvious abilities of the leader, most notable here is a still very young Lee Morgan on trumpet. The jubilant Morgan, at this time a rising star yet to hit his stride, makes an exquisite partner for the bluesy Mobley, one of the most underrated tenor men in jazz. Rounding out the quintet is the rhythm section of pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Paul Chambers, and the often-overlooked drummer Charlie Persip.

As the title suggests, Peckin’ has the spirit of a blowing session with a hefty amount of up-tempo rousers. The bopping opener “High and Flighty” gets things kicking with frenzied ensemble work and hard-blowing solos. The only standard of the set is the classic “Speak Low,” here presented as a bouncing rhumba with exceptionally lyrical contributions by Morgan. The swinging title track and the aptly titled burner “Stretchin’ Out” both offer more opportunities for all to display their wares with plenty of hard bop gusto. Finally, “Git-Go Blues” closes the session with a long, rolling groove that swings hard and deep. Also included are three alternate takes that offer even more blowing and swinging.

Personnel: Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Lee Morgan (trumpet); Wynton Kelly (piano); Paul Chambers (bass instrument); Charlie Persip (drums, drum).


01. High and Flighty
02. Speak Low
03. Peckin’ Time
04. Stretchin’ Out
05. Git-Go Blues
06. High and Flighty (Alternate Take)
07. Speak Low (Alternate Take)
08. Stretchin’ Out (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Hank Mobley – Peckin’ Time”

  1. Luciano says:

    Very thanks, very nice job on this album!!

Leave a Reply