Stanley Turrentine – Hustlin’


This is a typically excellent recording from the husband-wife team of tenor saxophonist Stanley Turrentine and organist Shirley Scott. With assistance from guitarist Kenny Burrell, bassist Bob Cranshaw, and drummer Otis Finch, Turrentine (who always had the skill of playing melodies fairly straight but with his own brand of soul) and Scott dig into “Love Letters,” Lloyd Price’s “Trouble,” “Something Happens to Me,” a couple of basic originals, and “Goin’ Home.” The Turrentine-Scott team never made an unworthy disc; all are easily recommended, including this one.


01. Trouble (No. 2)
02. Love Letters
03. The Hustler
04. Ladyfingers
05. Something Happens To Me
06. Goin’ Home

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply