Horace Silver Quintet – Six Pieces Of Silver


The Horace Silver Blue Note catalog would not be complete without Six Pieces Of Silver, a session that put the pianist on the map as a leader. After leaving the Jazz Messengers to Art Blakey, this session gave Silver a solid foothold as a solo hard bop contender, as witnessed by the ultra-funky “Senor Blues.” Though his classic quintet was a few years off, SIX PIECES features many of Silver’s Messengers cohorts including Donald Byrd, Hank Mobley, Doug Watkins, and the drummer that best suited the funky pianist, Louis Hayes.

The session gets off to a rocking start with “Cool Eyes,” a swinging testament to Silver’s writing and arranging strengths. Switching gears drastically, the somber ballad “Shirl” is one of his most introspective works. The often-covered hit “Senor Blues” is presented here in three versions: the regular album-length take, a shorter single version, and a vocal rendition by singer Bill Henderson, who was then a newcomer on the New York scene. The only standard of the set, the classic “For Heaven’s Sake,” is a touching ballad that remains a favorite of many pianists, and Silver performs it here with his usual superb taste.

Personnel: Horace Silver (piano); Bill Henderson (vocals); Hank Mobley, Junior Cook (tenor saxophone); Donald Byrd (trumpet); Doug Watkins, Gene Taylor (bass); Louis Hayes (drums).


01. Cool Eyes
02. Shirl
03. Camouflage
04. Enchantment
05. Senor Blues
06. Virgo
07. For Heaven’s Sake
08. Senor Blues (Alternate 45 Take)
09. Tippin’
10. Senor Blues (Vocal Version)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

2 Responses to “Horace Silver Quintet – Six Pieces Of Silver”

  1. kMP says:

    Another excellent post.

  2. JBC says:

    Great post! Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply