Andrew Hill – Judgment!


Andrew Hill’s previous 1964 outing on Blue Note, the trio-only smoke stack, had drummer Roy Haynes sounding so much like Elvin Jones that Hill brought in the real thing for next quartet session, Judgment! True to form, the always fiery Jones gets things off to an explosive start on “Siete Ocho,” with Hill and vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson keeping up as best they can. The warmly inventive Hutcherson remained an ideal musical partner for the abstract-minded pianist-composer, which was somewhat the same role that the bluesy vibraphonist Milt Jackson played with John Lewis in the Modern Jazz Quartet–except that, as a pianist, Andrew Hill is nowhere near as restrained as the spare and sometimes decorous Lewis. The ’60s avant-gardist is a prodigious, meaty musician, taking us on a dark, chromatic journey in all his extended improvisations. Judgment! is like an MJQ session opened up for a musically (and politically) radicalized ’60s.

Personnel: Andrew Hill (piano); Andrew Hill; Richard Davis (bass instrument); Bobby Hutcherson (vibraphone); Elvin Jones (drums).


01. Siete Ocho
02. Flea Flop
03. Yokada Yokada
04. Alfred
05. Judgment
06. Reconciliation
07. Yokada, Yokada (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply