Max Roach – It’s Time


An unusual set, this outing featured the drummer’s all-star sextet (which consisted of trumpeter Richard Williams, tenor-saxophonist Clifford Jordan, trombonist Julian Priester, pianist Mal Waldron and bassist Art Davis) joined by a vocal choir conducted by Coleridge Perkinson and orchestrated by Roach (who contributed all six originals). Unlike most other collaborations, the choir was not overly gospel-oriented and was utilized as a sort-of jazz ensemble. Each of the horns has a feature or two and singer Abbey Lincoln stars on “Lonesome Lover.” But despite the sincerity of this effort, there are times when one wishes the choir would leave altogether and let the quintet really stretch out.


01. It’s Time
02. Another Valley
03. Sunny Afternoon
04. Living Room
05. The Profit
06. Lonesome Lover

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply