Freddie Hubbard – Goin’ Up


Freddie Hubbard’s Goin’ Up is an excellent all-star date in the classic Blue Note tradition. Considered an up-and-comer at the time, Hubbard is in stellar form here. He displays sharp technical skills and a daring sense of adventure. Hubbard’s sound is a logical descendant of Clifford Brown’s, but a bright, distinctive shimmer hints at even greater things to come. This hard swinging session with Hank Mobley, McCoy Tyner, Paul Chambers, and Philly Joe Jones is a fine showcase for Hubbard’s emerging talents and a foreshadow of his tenure with Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers. Fellow trumpeter Kenny Dorham contributes two to GOIN’ UP. The classic “Asiatic Raes” is a punchy burner with driving solos, and “Karioka” is another fiery number featuring vigorous rhythms by the incomparable Jones. Hubbard and Mobley are a perfect match on the front line, evidenced on two Mobely-penned numbers–the bluesy “The Changing Scene” and the intricate bopper “A Peck A Sec.” The ageless ballad “I Wish I Knew” features Hubbard’s most sensual treatment, his dark, controlled tones followed by tasteful solos from Mobley and Tyner. This most enjoyable session closes with the bouncing “Blues For Brenda,” another fine offering from the trumpeter’s pen.


01. Asiatic Raes
02. The Changing Scene
03. Karioka
04. A Peck A Sec.
05. I Wished I Knew
06. Blues For Brenda

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

2 Responses to “Freddie Hubbard – Goin’ Up”

  1. Up Tempo says:

    Hi Rappa,
    I’ve got the original album. A fantastic lp. Great choice as usual.
    Cheers from Paris

  2. Ondinovagardovas says:

    I didn’t ever visited this website, is splendid finding lots of good music in various servers -mediafire runs so much better than rapidshare- Thanks for posting all this good music.

Leave a Reply