Duke Jordan – Flight To Jordan


Duke Jordan made his mark in jazz in the late 1940s as one of bebop innovator Charlie Parker’s regular pianists, but he didn’t blossom as a composer until the hard-bop era of the mid-’50s. Flight To Jordan, his 1960 Blue Note debut, captures Jordan at a creative peak. The album features a slightly unusual combination of musicians: Reggie Workman, who would soon thereafter make his own mark in jazz’s avant-garde sector; Stanley Turrentine, whose lusciously smooth, big-toned tenor would establish him as a leading light of the soul-jazz movement; and the fine, under-recorded Jamaican trumpeter Dizzy Reece. The latter’s tart approach contrasts wonderfully to Turrentine’s sweetly earthy sound. As a bonus, this remastered reissue includes two bonus tracks, one a trio take of the beloved standard “I Should Care.”


01. Flight To Jordan
02. Starbright
03. Squawkin’
04. Deacon Joe
05. Split Quick
06. Si Joya
07. Diamond Stud
08. I Should Care

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Duke Jordan – Flight To Jordan”

  1. Luis L says:

    Great share. Thanks.

Leave a Reply