Bobby Hutcherson – The Kicker


The same personnel who performed on Grant Green’s classic Idle Moments session in November 1963 reconvened for Bobby Hutcherson’s first recording as a leader one month later. The Kicker, however, was never released and waited more than 35 years to see the light of day. Thanks to reissue king Michael Cuscuna, we are now finally able to hear this swinging disc and marvel at yet another example of Hutcherson’s brilliance. Although this session is a bit more conservative than Dialogue, Hutcherson’s original released debut, this is an exquisite capsule of the Blue Note era and a crisp performance by all. Many of the tunes here have been recorded in various forms by other Blue Note artists, but this ensemble gives each cut its own distinctive treatment. Joe Henderson’s title track and “Step Lightly” are excellent examples of familiar tunes that are given a new flavor by this long-buried treasure of a disc. Also included is an energetic reading of the standard “If Ever I Would Leave You” and Joe Chamber’s “Mirrors,” both of which feature remarkable work by Hutcherson in his early development.


01. If Ever I Would Leave You
02. Mirrors
03. For Duke P.
04. The Kicker
05. Step Lightly
06. Bedouin

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply