The Philadelphia Experiment – The Philadelphia Experiment


In the ’40s, a time-travel experiment allegedly occurred in a Philadelphia naval yard. This fantastic combo of Philly musicians–pianist/keyboardist Uri Caine, bassist Christian McBride, and drummer Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson of the rap combo the Roots–takes its name from that fictional event, and combines fusion, mainstream jazz, and R&B styles from the ’70s to today. Augmented by guitar-legend Pat Martino and trumpeter John Swana, Thompson lays down some tricky jungle beats on the title track, while the threesome venture into the avant-garde on “(Re)moved” and into Latin on “IIe Ife.” The group reincarnates Sun Ra’s “Call for All Demons” as a funky instrumental, and they brilliantly revisit Marvin Gaye’s “Trouble Man,” while Elton John’s “Philadelphia Freedom” is redone as a classical-style McBride/Caine duet. The late saxophonist Grover Washington Jr. was Philly’s patron jazz saint, as evidenced by Caine’s reverent solo piano rendition of Washington’s hit “Mr. Magic” and McBride’s funky, overdubbed one-man electric bass version of “Just the Two of Us.” This threesome reminds us that the City of Brotherly Love still swings.

little preview:


01. Philadelphia Experiment
02. Grover
03. Lesson #4
04. Call For All Demons
05. Trouble Man Theme
06. Ain’t It The Truth
07. Lle Ife
08. The Miles Hit
09. (Re)moved
10. Philadelphia Freedom
11. Master Magic

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

2 Responses to “The Philadelphia Experiment – The Philadelphia Experiment”

  1. untchble says:

    Super Dope!

Leave a Reply