Oliver Nelson – The Blues and the Abstract Truth


The late Oliver Nelson had such a successful career as a composer of film and TV music (“Theme From the Six Million Dollar Man”) and arranger that it often overshadowed his abilities as a jazz musician. In 1961, Nelson assembled a fantastic small ensemble, including Eric Dolphy, Bill Evans, and Freddie Hubbard, for a session of six original compositions. Nelson was also an excellent, bluesy-toned saxophonist (heard here on tenor and alto) and his tunes cover a variety of moods, from the elegiac “Stolen Moments” to the wryly humorous, Aaron Copeland-like “Hoe-Down” to the rippling “Cascades.” Dolphy’s edgy, vocally inspired alto sound, the surging brassy tone of Hubbard’s trumpet, and the swinging lyricism of Bill Evans make a potent combination, contributing to Blues’s status as a classic of post-bop jazz.


01. Stolen Moments
02. Hoe-Down
03. Cascades
04. Yeanin’
05. Butch and Butch
06. Teenie’s Blues

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Oliver Nelson – The Blues and the Abstract Truth”

  1. dan says:

    thanks, i was looking for this one for a while now

Leave a Reply