Billy Higgins, Ray Drummond, Hank Jones – The Essence


Although bassist Ray Drummond is the leader of this trio set, he shares the spotlight quite evenly with pianist Hank Jones and drummer Billy Higgins. Drummond contributed two originals (including a tribute piece to Higgins) but otherwise the repertoire is comprised of jazz standards including “Things Ain’t What They Used to Be,” “Whisper Not,” “Love Walked In” and “Imagination.” Jones in particular is in excellent form on the fine modern mainstream set.


01. Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
02. Whisper Not
03. What Am I Here For
04. Emily
05. Allen’s Alley
06. The Essence
07. Love Walked In
08. Imagination
09. Mr Higgins, Suh

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply