Lone – Ecstasy & Friends


“Ecstasy & Friends”, Lone’s first full-length outing on Werk Discs, is a rejuvenating step back from the undeniable bass-driven style that has dominated the UK underground scene in recent years. Dreamy memories of Madlib are likely first impressions from these full-frontal productions, which come on like extensive workouts in melody and playful beats. Intriguing shades of post-club nostalgia pervade, underlined by warm, enveloping synths, while parallel sympathetic strands of muscular rhythm hit the mind and body with a refreshing and clean sound, willing and ready to go as hard in clubs as it does on the ears. This much-anticipated album fuses FlyLo-esque haziness and 808 drums and claps through a crate-digging production sound, which is as joy-reelingly bounce-laden as it is slaved-over and meticulous in its execution. Although inevitably grouped with the current wonky-hop movement of beat exploders, Lone’s output is immediately distinct from his contemporaries. His tunes stand out a mile as they strive to maintain groove and soul, switching effortlessly from the hip-house-in-space stylings of “Endlessly”, to a futurist R&B groove on “Waves Imagination”. Delving into every beat pocket, “Ecstacy & Friends” hot-spotlights Lone’s perpetual experimentation within hip hop’s perimeters.

little preview:


01. To Be With A Person That You Really Dig
02. Sungrazer Cascade
03. Paradise Backyard Jam
04. Arcade
05. Waves Imagination
06. Endlessly
07. The Twilight Switch
08. Love Heads
09. Karen Loves Kate

link removed

Leave a Reply