Freddie Hubbard – Open Sesame


Open Sesame is the debut album by trumpeter Freddie Hubbard released on the Blue Note label in 1960. It features performances by Hubbard, Tina Brooks, McCoy Tyner, Sam Jones and Clifford Jarvis. Open Sesame is not only a very good CD: it dramatizes history in the making. The trumpeter was not unknown then, but he was still in his early years; so was pianist McCoy Tyner, for whom a momentous association with John Coltrane was just around the corner. Indeed, the best-known musician at the time of this recording was bassist Sam Jones, and while he went on to bigger things with Cannonball Adderley and then Oscar Peterson, it was Hubbard and Tyner who would emerge as unambiguously major figures. That by rights should also have characterized tenorist Tina Brooks, but this superb player (his work on “But Beautiful” here is exquisite) never got the recognition he deserved, dying almost forgotten in 1974 at the age of 42.


01. Open Sesame
02. But Beautiful
03. Gypsy Blue
04. All Or Nothing At All
05. One Mint Juelp
06. Hub’s Nub
07. Open Sesame (Alternate Take)
08. Gypsy Blye (Alternate Take)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply