Al Grey – Snap Your Fingers


Trombonist Al Grey is joined by emerging young tenor saxophonist Billy Mitchell on this pair of 1962 sessions. The first five tracks also feature trumpeter Dave Burns and obscure pianist Floyd Morris. “Nothing But the Truth” is smoldering up-tempo blues with a bit of a gospel flavor, while Morris gets into the groove of the mid-tempo “Three-Fourth Blues.” Mitchell especially shines on Melba Liston’s soulful ballad “Just Waiting.” The three tracks from the earlier session feature Donald Byrd on trumpet and Herbie Hancock on piano. Also here is the slashing hard bop composition “Minor on Top.” Another Liston piece, “African Lady,” is complex and showcases Grey’s sensitive solo. There’s not a bad track on this recommended album.


01. Nothing But The Truth
02. Three-Fourth Blues
03. Just Waiting
04. R.B.Q.
05. On Green Dolphin Street
06. Minor On Top
07. African Lady
08. Hi-Fly

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “Al Grey – Snap Your Fingers”

  1. td dux says:

    Thank you for sharing all this woderful music.

Leave a Reply