John Patton – Along Came John


John Patton, Grant Green and Ben Dixon were introduced to Blue Note by Lou Donaldson and quickly became the quintessential rhythm section for Blue Note’s funkier session. They came together for this, John Patton’s first album, with two of the label’s tenor saxophonists Fred Jackson and Harold Vick. The double tenors and organ trio make an unbeatable combination for some soulful, swinging music. The title tune and “The Silver Meter” were radio hits that remain among the most popular of Patton’s recorded performances.


01. The Silver Meter
02. I’ll Never Be Free
03. Spiffy Diffy
04. Along Came John
05. Gee Gee
06. Pig Foots

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply