Gene Harris – Astral Signal


A masterpiece from Gene Harris  an album that’s probably been his biggest influence on the sound of soul in the 21st Century, and for good reason too! The set moves way beyond both Harris’ acoustic piano roots in the Three Sounds, and his other electric sides of the 70s  into sublime spacey territory that’s wrapped up in soul – as much a pinnacle of his musical vision as early 70s records were for Herbie Hancock or George Duke! The vibe here is a bit between the looser styles of Duke’s MPS recordings, and the tighter grooves of the Mizell generation and arrangements are by Harris, Harvey Mason, and Jerry Peters, the latter of whom really adds some great elements to the record.


01. Prelude
02. Summer (The First Time)
03. Rebato Summer
04. I Remember Summer
05. Don’t Call Me Nigger, Whitey
06. Losalamitoslatinfunklovesong
07. My Roots
08. Green River
09. Beginnings
10. Feeling You, Feeling Me Too!
11. Higga-Boom
12. Love Talkin’

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

4 Responses to “Gene Harris – Astral Signal”

  1. JazzyPier says:

    Bellissimo disco, grazie per il post, come sempre azzeccatissimo.
    Un abbraccione!

  2. frank says:


  3. miles says:

    i had forgotten all about this recording. thanks for the refresher.

  4. Cheeks says:

    I was trying to find a working link for this on the web, and the only one I found is this one, well it reminds me why your site is one of my favourites… Thanks!

Leave a Reply