Flanger – Outer Space/Inner Space


Flanger is the piss-take version of the Compost Records thing – Germans with samplers appropriating jazz. Not only do Burnt Friedman (Drome, Nonplace Urban Field) and Uwe Schmidt (Atom(tm)) do their wanking while wearing smirks – humor being a very rare commodity among Teutonic jazzbos – they don’t shy away from the conceptual implications of what they do either (pontificating is another no-no for cool studio cats). The liner notes, for instance, claim that the title is inspired by a J.G. Ballard essay, and offer a rambling, half-bullshit/half-on-to-something critical analysis of the album’s music in a marvelous spoof of real jazz sleeve commentary.

little preview:


01. Outer Space/Inner Space
02. Galak
03. The Mne Who Fell From Earth
04. Inner Spacesuit
05. Le Dernier Combat
06. Unosietecero
07. It Ain’t Rocket Science
08. Hirnflug

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply