Andreya Triana – Lost Where I Belong


The widely hyped debut album from Ninja Tune’s latest rising star, Andreya Triana, Lost Where I Belong is a jazzy, noir-ish soul album that gives a full introduction to a vocal talent who’s previously worked with Flying Lotus, Theo Parrish and Mr Scruff, among others. The production and arrangements here ooze class (if, indeed, class can be a commodity that lends itself to the act of oozing) and that’s surely thanks to Bonobo’s Simon Green who man’s the controls on Lost Where I Belong. You may recall Triana gracing the latest Bonobo LP, supplying vocals to several tracks on the Black Sands tracklist, and the results on that occasion proved that these two certainly know how to bring the best out of one another. This time around, the musical accompaniment is considerably more subdued and organic, leaving Triana’s arresting vocal to take the central role. ‘Draw The Stars’ sets the scene with its ethereal plucked strings and woody rhythms, calling upon a flourish of orchestration when the moment comes. The remainder of the album is similarly well poised and resourceful, capturing a glazed over, downbeat feel that adds a little extra muscle and nuance to what might otherwise have come perilously close to a Morcheeba-esque exercise in trip-hop easy listening. Triana’s talents as a vocalist are what really come through clearest on this release though, and she proves suitably spellbinding whether she’s fronting uptempo, edgy soul numbers like ‘A Town Called Obsolete’ or the haunting chamber-folk of closer ‘X’.

for more info and buy:


01. Draw The Stars
02. Lost Where i Belong
03. A Town Called Obsolete
04. Darker Than Blue
05. Dyadreamers
06. Far Closer
07. Something In The Silence
08. Up In Fire
09. X

link removed

One Response to “Andreya Triana – Lost Where I Belong”


    very good album

Leave a Reply