Skalpel – Polish jazz


Skalpel are nu jazz DJs and musicians, Marcin Cichy and Igor Pudło, from Wrocław in Poland. Their musical style is a distinctive blend of hip hop beats, laced with samples lifted from the rich seam of Polish jazz records of the 1960s and 1970s. In 2000, after interviewing DJ Vadim for a Polish hip hop magazine, Skalpel discussed samples, obscure breaks and the Polish music scene with him. That led to a combined tour with Skalpel and Vadim’s live band, The Russian Percussion, during which they performed with four turntables. Later that year, Skalpel released a demo CD entitled “Polish Jazz”, which gained praise in from the Polish music press.

for more info and buy:


01. Newly Arrived From Poland
02. Tension
03. The Dream Of The Sleepless Man
04. Directions
05. The Fairy Tale From a Dusty Crate
06. Sculpture

link removed

4 Responses to “Skalpel – Polish jazz”

  1. thirdeye says:

    Yeah, these guys are amazing, simply make me proud to be Polish :) Thx for sharing their music, they do deserve a much wider audience.
    Have you got ’2 Mixes from Wroclaw’ and ‘Virtual Cuts [Mixtape]‘? If not, just let me know.

  2. J Van S says:

    I have all of their Music (that I know of) they’re one of the few these days to remain consistent throughout… If you like this one, you’ll love all the rest. Also, the remix CD that was up, out and around was the culmination of a really cool remix contest that they did through their label (NinjaTune)… unless I’m mis-remembering. Was that LAMB that did that?

    I dunno. Still. This is good stuff! Thanks so much for everything!


  3. J Van S says:

    Third Eye, do you have those? I’ve looked for them to buy (here in Venice, California)… to no avail. Is there somewhere online, perhaps?

  4. thirdeye says:

    Unfortunately, I don’t have either of them – only in mp3 format. ‘Virtual Cuts’ was probably released only as a cassette by Blend Records back in 2000 (once I saw it for sale for approx. $20). ’2 Mixes from Wroclaw’ was a promo only – you might get lucky and find it in one of second hands.
    The contest you mention indeed involved Skalpel, the winning mixes were released as a 12″ Vinyl ‘Break Out’ and are all included in ’1958 Breaks’ from the previous post.

Leave a Reply