John Coltrane – Meditations


1965 was a turning point in the life of John Coltrane. It was at this point that he crossed the line into the free jazz arena that he had been approaching since the early ’60s. Besides his landmark ASCENSION, no better album illustrates this than the awe-inspiring MEDITATIONS. Coltrane’s regular quartet with McCoy Tyner (piano), Jimmy Garrison (bass) and Elvin Jones (drums) is expanded here with second drummer Rashied Ali (who would assume Jones’ spot after this album) and saxophonist Pharoah Sanders. This conglomeration produces some dense textures, especially in the epic first track, “The Father and The Son and The Holy Ghost.” This sonic hurricane is a 13-minute outpouring of spiritual emotion that is at once compelling and exhausting. Elsewhere, the group delicately follows Coltrane’s lead on the passionate “Love” and swings with abandon on the raucous “Consequences” as Sanders and ‘Trane battle like warriors above the churning rhythm section. Finally, the aptly titled “Serenity” is a swirling free-form improvisation gently touching back down to earth after an adventurous ride through the heavens.

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on November 23, 1965. Includes original release liner notes by Nat Hentoff.

Personnel: John Coltrane (tenor saxophone, percussion); Pharoah Sanders (tenor saxophone, tambourine, bells); McCoy Tyner (piano); Jimmy Garrison (acoustic bass); Elvin Jones, Rashied Ali (drums).


01. The Father and The Son and The Holy Ghost
02. Compassion
03. Love
04. Consequences
05. Serenity

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEGAUPLOAD
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “John Coltrane – Meditations”

  1. Mindful Tia says:

    Practicing meditation is the perfect exercise to get a more happy life. I know it saved me and kept me sane no matter what happened.

Leave a Reply