Elvin Jones And Richard Davis – Heavy Sounds


One of Elvin Jones’ better CDs as a leader, HEAVY SOUNDS offers a plethora of aural pleasures. Whether it be Frank Foster’s creative tenor work, or Richard Davis’ fat, rounded double bass tone, this music really swings hard. With his sensitive, yet hard-hitting style, Jones himself is in superb form here. Highlights on HEAVY SOUNDS include a bass and drums duet version of “Summertime,” and the beautiful ballad, “Here’s That Rainy Day.” On the former, Jones plays a particularly moving solo using timpani mallets. Jones also plays guitar (his first and only time) on this album–his old-fashioned delta blues style ain’t half bad.


01. Raunchy Rita
02. Shiny Stockings
03. M.E.
04. Summertime
05. Elvin’s Guitar Blues
06. Here’s That Rainy Day

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply