The Roots – How I Got Over


To call it “long-awaited” or “eagerly anticipated” would be the understatement of the year – as hip-hop’s most daring pioneers the Roots release their 9th studio album (and third for Def Jam Recordings) on June 22nd, HOW I GOT OVER. The album, which takes its name from Clara Ward’s gospel classic (made popular by Mahalia Jackson), is the Roots’ first new release since joining Late Night with Jimmy Fallon for a full time gig as the show’s house band. Grammy Award winners the Roots characterize the songs on HOW I GOT OVER as “depicting the everyman’s search for hope in this dispiriting post-hope zeitgeist”. The lead single from the Roots new set will be “Dear God 2.0.” The track re-imagines the Monsters Of Folk song “Dear God” and features MOF members Yim Yames from My Morning Jacket, Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis from Bright Eyes and M. Ward.

HOW I GOT OVER also includes two appearances from Grammy-winning soul man John Legend: “Doin’ It Again” a re-working of his track “Again,” and “The Fire,” an original song written for the Roots’ 2010 Olympic concert performance.

The Roots and Legend have developed a strong musical bond, as the group has produced John’s entire upcoming release Wake Up, which shares the socially conscious themes of the “How I Got Over” set and is comprised of late sixties/early seventies covers.

Other guests on HIGO include Joanna Newsom on “Right On,” Phonte Coleman (Little Brother, The Foreign Exchange), Blu (Blu & Exile), Peedi Peedi , Mercedes Martinez, Icelandic alt-pop singer Patty Crash, newcomer Sugar Tongue Slim as well as long time Roots’ Crew members Dice Raw, Truck North and P.O.R.N.


01. A Peace of Light (feat. Amber Coffman, Angel Deradoorian & Haley Dekle of Dirty Projectors)
02. Walk Alone (feat. Truck North, P.O.R.N. & Dice Raw)
03. Dear God 2.0 (feat. Monsters of Folk)
04. Radio Daze (feat. Blu, P.O.R.N. & Dice Raw)
05. Now Or Never (feat. Phonte & Dice Raw)
06. How I Got Over (feat. Dice Raw)
07. DillaTUDE (The Flight of Titus)
08. The Day (feat. Blu, Phonte & Patty Crash)
09. Right On (feat. Joanna Newsom & STS)
10. Doin’ It Again (feat. John Legend)
11. The Fire (feat. John Legend)
12. Tunnel Vision
13. Web 20/20 (feat. Peedi Peedi & Truck North)
14. Hustla (feat. STS)

link removed MULTIMIRROR

link removed MULTIMIRROR

10 Responses to “The Roots – How I Got Over”

  1. frank says:

    The one I’ve been waiting for!
    Many thanks francesco….

  2. jrscfnk says:


  3. Alex says:

    Wow, HIGO isn’t supposed to be released next week ? That’d be a nice preview though :D

    And like the dude above.. yeah, I Love You too.. xD

    Thanks :)

  4. Espo says:

    This shit is insanely dope. Good looks

  5. Tiffany says:

    the *perfect* late birthday present. many thanks!!

  6. DJ Steppe says:

    How you don’t get shut down is beyond me…but thank you.

  7. TT says:

    ’cause “all links provided are only for suggest to you only good music” you dont get it?;)

    Unreal LP, deffo album of the year so far, thanks for what you’re doing mate, great blog.

  8. F. says:

    ehi dok, come cavolo si usa mirrocreator? mi rimanda sempre alla pagina della lista senza far partire niente dei link

  9. dOk says:

    clicca sul mirror che desideri e ti si apre in una nuova pagina ;)

  10. serg says:

    8) cool 8)

Leave a Reply