MRR-ADM Featuring Malcolm Catto – Untitled


This record is simple to describe: it’s all about rhythm. Drums to be exact. Heavy, syncopated, driving. Followed by the bass. Percussive, insistent. Perhaps some guitar. Biting, raspy. Analog synth sounds? Absolutely. As long as they’re dark. If those descriptions sound similar to those that you might find on the back of those production library LPs from the likes of KPM, Dewolfe, Southern, Peer or other imprints whose sole purpose was to supply talented musicians with a blank disc which they could theninscribe with sounds of their liking, well, congrats to you. You’ve touched on MRR-ADM’s mantra. No contrived, commercial formulas needed. Just a theme, built upon for a number of tracks pressed onto wax and sold to radio stations, film and television editors and ad agencies across the world. That’s really what you’re holding in your hand – a music library album. Done for the modern day arbiter of taste, of course. But, this time made available – in limited quantities, however – to the record buying public. MRR-ADM are a production team from Southern California. At one point in the past, they were known as MHE (see their forthcoming release on Sound in Color). On this record, they worked with Malcolm Catto (leader of The Heliocentrics on Now-Again Records) and Mike Burnham (Tardis Studios, UK and Australia) along with some other supremely musical compatriots. This limited edition (less than 1,000 pieces manufactured) 10″ vinyl is a privately pressed record. Catchy titles are not MRR-ADM’s strong suit. You’ll notice that there aren’t any song titles on this album. Actually, there aren’t any words on this package. MRR-ADM are concerned with stark, dark minimalism, whether in their design or in their sound. These six songs – complex in their seeming simplicity – are their favorites from the first round of recordings that they made over the past five years. But they are only an introduction. There is much more to come.

little preview:


01. 009
02. 010
03. 011
04. 012
05. 013
06. Beat

link removed MULTIMIRROR

3 Responses to “MRR-ADM Featuring Malcolm Catto – Untitled”

  1. fokfok says:

    the link is dead man…

  2. Kush says:

    Not for me, still up! Dope beat…. heavy

  3. Merkaba says:

    This shit is AMAZING!!! new Tony Williams on drums.

Leave a Reply