14KT – The Golden Hour


Producer/MC and DJ 14KT has been working steadily as a member of Michigan hip hop collective the Athletic Mic League and the producing team of the Lab Techs! He’s been a big player in helping launch what looks to be a long and successful career run for Buff1 and has produced for plenty of other Michigan area artists. The mostly instrumental affair is full of breathtaking sample work and beautiful sonic ambiance that fills the voids between the drums. The Golden Hour, in medical terms, is apparently that last stretch to revive an ailing patient to a full recovery, which inspired 14KT to finally unveil his solo outing in search of his own meaning. It is very much in keeping with the unique sounds of the hip hop movement coming out of Detroit and greater surrounding areas like An Arbor as of late, it is also reminiscent of J-Dilla (not just throwing that out there either) and others leading by example like Black Milk. It should also be said that this is not the type of album you prefer to hear lyrics over while listening, because that would merely cheapen the effort into some kind of sales pitch for shopping beats. You can really feel 14KT speaking through the music here, which may sound cliche, but in this case it’s true.

for more info check: asideworldwide.com/artists/14kt/

little preview:


01. The Waiting Room (The Main Theme) feat. Lovesong
02. Surgery
03. The Inside feat. Tiffany Paige
04. NNE Mode
05. Ypsilanti
06. Hihatspectations
07. The D Light In You
08. Love Handle
09. Tick Tock Hustle
10. Ivory Pillars
11. ICU Smile
12. Can We??(Chill Again) feat. Aloe Blacc
13. Trust Issues
14. When My Sunsets (The Golden Hour)
15. Less Than Enough feat. AB
16. The Night
17. Repirse (Start Over)
18. Miss U (for Lost Loved Ones)
19. Without Dilla
20. Illustrious (End Titles)

link removed MULTIMIRROR

2 Responses to “14KT – The Golden Hour”

  1. Jay.lahood says:

    Yo this kat is dope, he was in the redbull bigtune battle and won
    definitely worth checking out.

Leave a Reply