The 3 Pieces – Vibes Of Truth


A great little album of jazz funk — and the only record we’ve ever seen by this group! The 3 Pieces may not have lasted long in the record business, but this rare album from 1975 has made them legends on the rare groove scene for years. The record was cut during the height of the jazz funk years at Fantasy Records — and it features Donald Byrd handling the production chores, in a similar manner to the style that he used with the more famous Blackbyrds, who were also recording for Fantasy the time. The record features loads of electric piano and ARP, plus some tight and smooth guitar, and a nice rolling groove that is very catchy. A number of tracks have vocals — in kind of a subdued soul mode — and tracks include the groove classics “Backed Up Against The Wall”, “Shortnin Bread”, “Concrete Jungle”, and “Vibes Of Truth”. And believe it or not, there aren’t any vibes on the album!

little preview:


01. I Need You Girl
02. Backed Up Against The Wall
03. Vibes Of Truth
04. Shortin’ Bread (Trad Arr)
05. Self Dealin’
06. Concrete Jungle
07. If Only I Could Prove To You
08. Cool It
09. Virtue

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

One Response to “The 3 Pieces – Vibes Of Truth”

  1. RPM~ says:

    YesssSir… Good stuff here. I own this myself and upon hearing “I Need You Girl”, I was instantly hooked.

Leave a Reply