Roy Ayers – Change Up The Groove


A great little album from Roy Ayers’ early years with Polygram — often overlooked amidst some of the bigger records in the catalog, but a very soulful set that’s got some wonderful funky numbers! There’s a really jazzy feel going on here — Roy’s nod back to his older roots in music, touched with some of the sharper styles of the 70s generations — especially in the rhythms, which are starting to have that snapping sound that was the Ayers trademark in the 70s. Vibes ring out wonderfully throughout — often getting more space than vocals — and other instrumentation includes soprano sax from George Braith, keyboards from Harry Whitaker and Leon Pendarvis, and drums from Bernard Purdie. Bits of strings slide in nicely, showing a deeper sound to Roy’s arranging skills — and titles include the funky break classic “The Boogie Back”, a sweet reading of “Feel Like Makin’ Love”, with all the right electric effects to get the best out of the song’s mellow righteous vibe — and the great cuts “Fishika”, “Sensitize”, “Don’t You Worry Bout A Thing”, “When is Real Real?”, and “Change Up The Groove”.


01. Change Up The Groove
02. Sensitize
03. Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing
04. Mash Theme
05. Fikisha (To Help Someone To Arrive)
06. Feel Like Makin’ Love
07. When Is Real, Real
08. The Boogie Back

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply