Nicola Conte – Bossa Per Due


Nicola Conte is an Italian DJ, producer and guitar player known for introducing an innovative style of acid jazz that incorporates bossa nova themes, melodies drawn from Italian film scores of the 1960s, easy listening themes, and ethnic Indian music.

Conte, a classically-trained musician, is mastermind of a collective of acid jazz revivalists, “The Fez Collective,” based in the Italian town of Bari, and the Idizioni-Ishatr / Schema label, their record label for promoting their distinctly Italian approach to acid jazz.

Conte’s first album was Jet Sounds of 2000. The single “Bossa Per Due” gained international recognition and was an underground hit. It was used almost immediately for a prime-time commercial for Acura automobiles. The album was licensed for American distribution by Thievery Corporation’s Eighteenth Street Lounge (ESL) label in the summer of 2001 as Bossa Per Due, and was a slightly reconfigured version of the Italian Jet Sounds album. This was followed by the Jet Sounds Revisited remix album in late 2002. Two years later, Blue Note’s French subsidiary released Conte’s next album Other Directions. In November 2008, Conte released his latest album, Rituals. In November of 2009, Nicola released “The Modern Sound of Nicola Conte”, versions in jazz-dub, on Schema records. Unlike his 2002 remix album which featured artists largely reworking his songs, this two disc set had Nicola releasing original titles and featured some of his jazz styled remixes of other people’s works.

Conte also produced albums by other artists such as Rosalia De Souza and Paolo Achenza Trio.


01. Arabesque
02. Bossa Per Due
03. Dossier Omega
04. Il Cerchio Rosso
05. Fuoco Fatuo
06. Forma 2000
07. Missione a Bombay
08. Jazz Pour Dadine
09. The In Samba
10. La Coda Del Diavolo
11. Mambo de los Dandies
12. Jet Sounds
13. Trappola Mortale

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply