John Klemmer – Blowin’ Gold


A great session from John Klemmer — a real giant on the tenor, with a sound that long deserves to be revived! Klemmer’s blowing here on straight tenor and with some electronic effects on the horn — and he’s working with a hip Chicago soul jazz combo that includes Phil Upchurch on bass, Morris Jennings on drums, Pete Cosey on guitar, and Richard Thompson on piano and organ. The cuts are all pretty straight for Klemmer — and have that wonderful mix of styles that you’d find in the Cadet studios of the late 60s, with bits of rock, soul, and funk working their way into the mix. Titles include “Excursion #2″, “My Heart Sings”, “Third Stone From The Sun”, “Free Soul”, and “Children Of The Earth Flames”.

little preview:


01. Excursion #2
02. My Love Has Butterfly Wings
03. My Heart Sings
04. Hey Jude
05. Third Stone From The Sun
06. Free Soul
07. Children Of The Earth Flames

Link Removed In Request Of Remohj Music

you can buy his albums here:

Leave a Reply