Chet Baker & Enrico Pieranunzi – Soft Journey


Now, after thirty long and tormented years, this legendary album is finally going to be released on the Pieranunzi Series launched by EGEA Records. Soft Journey was written by Enrico after the confirmation that he would have recorded soon this album with Chet, then came Brown Cat Dance , a hard bop blues tune. Chet’s pairs with the great pianist for an album of mostly original tunes. The absence of standards, along with some great arrangements, gives the CD a fresh, breezy feel. Here, Enrico introduces Chet to Night Bird , a somewhat unusual minor blues that will become a regular until his last days. Baker sings on an odd Animali Diurni , a chance to shine as the magnificent jazz singer he was. Chet Baker once again reinvents “My Funny Valentine” by playing muted trumpet, something he rarely did for that song. They rehearsed the repertory for several days and then recorded it. But in those days jazz market distribution mechanisms were very rudimentary and so, despite its highly favourable critical reception, this album remained an obscure find for true enthusiasts only. Now, after thirty long and tormented years, EGEA Records, in the year of the 20th anniversary of Chet s death, releases this album which according to both critics and musicians is the most memorable of Chet s late career. Recorded in Rome on December 4, 1979 and January 4, 1980.


01. Soft Journey
02. Animali Diurni
03. Brown Cat Dance
04. My Funny Valentine
05. Night Bird
06. Fairy Flowers

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEGAUPLOAD
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply