Charles Williams – Stickball


Full-on funky backings for saxophonist Charles Williams — a set that almost has him in the same territory as Stanley Turrentine during his late 70s years on Fantasy Records, or Hank Crawford over at Kudu! The style here is a bit more lush than some of the other Mainstream Records dates of the time — full backings arranged and conducted by Ernie Wilkins — always plenty darn soulful, and built around a mix of strings and jazzier instrumentation — set up with the care and precision of a hip soul soundtrack, and topped by well-crafted alto sax solos by Williams.

little preview:


01. Who Is He (And What Is He To You)
02. People Make The World Go ‘Round
03. Where Is The Love
04. Iron Jaws
05. Drown In My Own Tears
06. Ain’t No Blues
07. Just Before Day
08. Willow Weep For Me

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEGAUPLOAD
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply