Matthew Larkin Cassell – Pieces


Matthew Larkin Cassell is a northern California songwriter, vocalist, and multi-instrumentalist. His songwriting style is a fusion of funk, R&B, jazz and pop. A San Francisco Bay Area native, Mr. Cassell has made numerous appearances in the Bay Area and European tours throughout his formative years as a musician.

Mr. Cassell is best known for his original, privately pressed vinyl recordings from the 70’s and 80’s : the LP ‘Pieces’ from 1977, the EP, ‘Matt The Cat’ released in 1978, and the untitled 45 released in 1980. Mr. Cassell has seen a revival of interest in his music through the Internet, rare vinyl and beat collectors, worldwide. Copies of his original records have exceeded $1,700.

Joel Selvin of the San Francisco Chronicle writes of Mr. Cassell’s the rediscovery of his recordings, “A 21st century digital fairy tale.” Mr Cassell’s recordings and back story were covered by Paul Liberatore of the Marin Independent Journal.

First re-emerging through The Kings of Digging compilation helmed by the DJ team Kon & Amir, recording artists Madlib, M. F. Doom, and People Under The Stairs have since sampled Mr. Cassell’s early recordings.

Portions of Mr. Cassell’s catalogue have been re-issued by the Blues Interactions / P-Vine label in Japan, Rapster Records in Berlin, and the BBE label in London, and is currently signed to the Stones Throw label in Los Angeles. His complete works are to be released by Stones Throw on May 17, 2010.

Mr. Cassell resides, records, and performs in northern California.

for more info check the official site:

little preview:


01. Rendezvous
02. Heaven
03. Ecotez Moi
04. You
05. Beggin To Stay
06. Holiday
07. Another Day Gone
08. One Night
09. In My Life

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEGAUPLOAD
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply