Kero One Albums!


Using home recording equipment and his personal credit card, Kero One pressed and released his first 12” single in 2003 on his own imprint, Plug Label. Without any experience as to how he should distribute his new record, Kero One spent endless hours researching, cold calling, and seeking help from friends. Of the 50 copies that were eventually distributed around the world, one landed in a tiny record store in Tokyo, Japan. A few weeks later, it was found by a Japanese DJ who played it at a club that night and received dozens of inquires, including a Japanese label executive who immediately contacted Kero One and asked for 3,000 copies of the record.

The record became a hit in Japan almost overnight, and Kero One was invited to tour the country just a few months after. He performed in cities throughout Japan where he was greeted by hundreds of fans waiting to take photographs and autographs, much to his surprise. It was at this point that making a career out of music became a reality. Kero One went on to finish his first album, Windmills of the Soul, in 2005, handling everything from playing instruments, producing, writing lyrics, rapping, and sound engineering. Without a strong label backing or a street team, Kero One handled almost all the business himself. From promotions and marketing, manufacturing, finances, graphic layouts and web design, Kero One personally handed out promos to tastemakers anywhere he could find them. Eventually the hard work paid off, and Kero One quit his job as a web designer in 2006 to pursue music full time.

Since 2006, Kero One has been awarded the title of Best HipHop Album of 2006 from Remix magazine, topped international iTunes hiphop charts, received positive reviews from the likes of Emmy award winning producer, and toured all over the world. Kero One has toured Japan, Europe, Australia, Korea, Taiwan, Philippines and the States performing with artists like KRS 1, Blu + Exile , DJ Cash Money, Dj Kentaro and Epik High. Additionally, Kero One has kept busy collaborating with the likes renowned acts such as Talib Kweli, Mark Farina, Epik High, and Dynamic Duo. In 2007, Kero One opened his first office and recording studio in downtown San Francisco to house his fledging hiphop/dance/funk imprint, Plug Label, releasing over a dozen records and CDs. In 2009, Kero One independently released his official sophomore album Early Believers showcasing the talents of some of his favorite vocalists such as UK singer Ben Westbeech, Finland’s answer to modern soul,” Tuomo, and Portland’s Ohmega Watts. Recently, Kero One has returned from tour with Korean supergroup Epik High during which he performed in sold-out venues such as the renowned House of Blues in Hollywood, Irving Plaza in New York, and the Masonic Center in San Francisco. So far in 2009, Kero One has also wrapped up three music videos and is currently working on side music projects as well as his third full-length solo album due to release in 2010. For more info check!

2005 – Windmills of The Soul


01. Windmills Intro
02. Give Thanks – (featuring Niama j)
03. Musical Journey
04. My Story
05. In a Dream
06. Ain’t That Somethin’?
07. Tempted
08. In All the Wrong Places
09. Keep It Alive!
10. Cycle Repeats, The
11. Fly Fly Away
12. It’s a New Day
13. Check the Blueprints
14. My Story (DJ Mitsu The Beats Remix)

2007 – Plug Label


01. In All the Wrong Places 12 inch (New 12″ Version) Kero One
02. With My Friends (12″ Only) Aloe Blacc & King Most
03. Keep It Alive jazz remix (12″ Only Jazz Remix) Kero One
04. Future Paradise (12″ Mix) Yosaku
05. Summer In The City Tableek Of Maspyke
06. Cruise Control Green Tea
07. On And On Ohmega Watts
08. Get Down (12″ Only) Aloe Blacc And Kero One
09. Give Thanks SP Remix (Sound Providers Remix – 12″ Only) Kero One And Sound Providers
10. Slippin’ Away Ohmega Watts
11. Check The Blueprints Japan Remix (Japan Only 12″ Remix) Kero One
12. My Story DJ Mitsu Remix (DJ Mitsu Remix – Japan Only) Kero One And Dj Mitsu The Beats
13. Space Cadets Kero One The Producer
14. Yagotta Remix (Raindrops Remix – 12″ Only) Niamaj And Kero One
15. Ramp King Most
16. Here We Go

2009 – Early Believers

01. Welcome To the Bay
02. When the Sunshine Comes feat. Ben Westbeech
03. Keep Pushin
04. Lets Just Be Friends feat. Tuomo
05. Bossa Soundcheck
06. Love and Happiness feat. Tuomo
07. Stay on the Grind feat. Ohmega Watts
08. A Song for Sabrina
09. This Life Ain t Mine
10. I Never Thought That We
11. Goodbye Forever feat. Ben Westbeech

Leave a Reply