The New Groove, The Blue Note Remix Project

One of many jazz-rap fusion projects of the mid-’90s, The New Groove found top hip-hop acts of the time — including Diamond D., Guru, the Roots, and Spearhead — remixing and revamping classic tracks by legendary jazz artists like Donald Byrd, Lonnie Smith, and Bobby Hutcherson. Though far from a novel concept even then, the album works better than most similar projects thanks to the talents of the parties involved. The Angel’s version of Byrd’s “Kofi,” which features silky-smooth rhymes from up and coming female MC Mystic, proves one of the album’s high points, as does DJ Smash’s ultra-funky, violin-heavy update of Stevie Wonder’s “Living for the City.” But almost all of the tracks work well, pointing out the direct lines connecting the groovy hipness of jazz with the best of modern hip-hop.

Audio Remixers: DJ Smash; Diamond D; Easy Mo Bee; Brian Pugsley; Eric Lynch; Dino Zervous; Josh Chervokas; James B. Mansfield; Joe Quinde; Large Professor; Michael Frondelli.

Unknown Contributor Roles: DJ Smash; Diamond D; Donald Byrd; Easy Mo Bee; Gene Harris; Guru; Horace Silver; Gerry Vince; Jacky Terrasson; Karen Jones; Bernard Kundell; Constance Pressman; Jacob Krachmalnick; LG Experience; Large Professor; Dr. Lonnie Smith ; Marshall Sosson; Noel Pointer; Pamela Goldsmith; Ronnie Foster; Ronnie Laws; Spearhead; The Roots; The Ummah; Kathleen Lenski; Edgar Lustgarten; Bobby Hutcherson; Cannonball Adderley.

little preview:

Ronnie Laws & The L.G. Experience – Friends & Strangers


01. Donald Byrd & The Angel – Kofi
02. Cannonball Adderley & Large Professor – Hummin’
03. Noel Pointer & Dj Smash – Living For The City
04. Gene Harris & The G.U.R.U. – Listen Here
05. Ronnie Laws & The L.G. Experience – Friends & Strangers
06. Grant Green & The Ummah feat. Dianne Reeves – Down Here on The Ground
07. Ronnie Foster & Diamond D – Summer Song
08. Lonnie Smith & Michael Franti’s Spearhead – Move Your Hand
09.Horace Silver & Easy Mo Bee – The Sophisticated Hippie
10. Bobby Hutcherson & The Roots – Montara
11. Jacky Terrasson & The Angel – Mixed Freelings (The New Groove)

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEGAUPLOAD
link removed EASYSHARE
link removed DEPOSITFILES
link removed MEDIAFIRE
link removed FILEFACTORY
link removed HOTFILE
link removed BADONGO
link removed SENDSPACE

2 Responses to “The New Groove, The Blue Note Remix Project”

  1. Cornell says:

    You are the shit. It is hard as hell to find Montara (roots remix). Thanks Man

  2. Artur says:

    Most sophisticated jazz compilation ever. THX.

Leave a Reply