Grant Green – Iron City

Although his most famous records were made on Blue Note, Grant Green’s IRON CITY, which was originally released on Cobblestone and later Muse Records, is arguably the best of his mid-period output. Recorded in 1967, this is a trio session with Big John Patton showing some amazing skills on Hammond organ and Ben Dixon on drums. Together they form the consummate organ trio that was the basis of the soul-jazz movement.Green is masterful throughout, showing tremendous dexterity, expression, and fire. His dancing lines on exciting cuts like the nimble “Samba De Orpheus” and the ultra-funky “High Heeled Sneakers” are excellent examples of his influential single-line soling technique. Patton is exceptional as well; his powerful work on these and Nat Adderley’s “Work Song” are prime examples of his own mastery of the organ. Of special note is the trio’s moving rendition of the traditional “Motherless Child.” In all, this is classic Grant Green, classic soul, and classic fun.


01. Iron City
02. Samba de Orpheus
03. Old Man Moses (Let My People Go)
04. High Heeled Sneakers
05. Motherless Child
06. Work Song

link removed RAPIDSHARE
link removed MEGAUPLOAD
link removed MEDIAFIRE

Leave a Reply